Skip to content

Apparent Signs of the Apocalypse

April 8, 2011

Whether this is a picture of Kevin Youkilis crying or not (I believe it is) is irrelevant. What is relevant is that your Cleveland Indians just finished off a sweep of the Boston Red Sox for the first time in 10 years. They also helped the Sox along to their worst start to a season since the year before Ted Williams rejoined the team following World War II.

I’ll get to the Indians in a moment, but that isn’t the main reason for this post.

This post has more to do with schadenfreude, specifically Boston related. You could argue that it’s juvenile, that I’m wasting my time, and that I should concentrate on local things. And you’d probably be right. However, since I’m the one writing here, I think I’ll have it my way.

First off, big ups to @jimkanicki for the link to Boston sports radio yesterday. I was treated to the worst ( by worst, I mean best ) doom and gloom since probably forever. Their entire circular rant went something like this:

1) The Red Sahcks are-ah AWFUL, Cahl Crawfuhd is vastly OVAHPAID, and this team stinks.
2) HOW CAN JAWN HENRY MAHKET LEBRAWN’S IMAGE!!! WE HATE LEBRAWN!!
3) JAWN HENRY AND THEO EPSTEIN CARE-AH MORE-AH FOR-AH LEBRAWN THAN HE DOES FOR THE RED SAHCKS!

See, Lebron’s marketing deal goes deeper than simply being handed a stake in Liverpool FC. Fenway Sports Management is a subsidiary of the Fenway Sports Group, who also owns the Red Sox, Liverpool, and is a co-owner of Roush Racing in NASCAR.

So what’s the big stink about everything? Gee, I don’t know…

Truly riveting material to say the least. It’s nice to see that for all of their bitching about being long suffering, and how no fan base has been through what they’ve been through, that they finally get a taste of humility. Hopefully it lasts all season and for the rest of eternity.

_____________

I could probably write about a thousand words about what’s wrong with the Celtics, but it’s obvious to everyone that has ever watched a Celtics game. They’re missing Perkins, in the worst way. He battered and abused whatever 40 year old washed up center that Miami was playing at the moment, and now that toughness is gone.

On the other hand, Oklahoma City found the final piece they need. This will be a frightening team to watch down the stretch, as Perkins is EXACTLY what they needed in the middle of all that scoring.

_____________

Finally, on to the Indians. I’ll admit to being about the biggest naysayer I know on this team. I could probably write a dissertation on what I think is inherently wrong about the Indians ( and teams in similar financial situations ) being farm clubs for the big boys. It won’t do any good. Simply because bloggers, beat writers, and Jesus Christ himself could pen a convincing piece on why Major League Baseball economics need to change, and it wouldn’t matter.

I have one specific question here, and I believe I also have the answer.

Why won’t the smaller market owners who are constantly claiming poverty speak about the unfairness of the situation? The NBA and NFL owners have absolutely NO problem complaining when they think they aren’t making enough money ( the legitimacy of those claims are for another post ). So why is mum the word for Major League Baseball?

The answer? because no matter how bad the attendance (and weather) in April are, quite simply put, the owners in baseball are making plenty of money. I would say that for the most part that they aren’t even close to the NFL, but they are making money. If the Pittsburgh Pirates are making money , then it would be nearly impossible to explain to me that the entire league isn’t making money.

Anyhow, it’s nice to see the Indians doing well early. However, and it pains me to say this, but my optimism will always be very closely guarded, which removes all of the fun of cheering for a team in the first place.

However, there is something big going on around here, and it started last Friday. I’d be a liar if I tried to say that I haven’t noticed it.

Have a nice Friday everyone, and enjoy your weekend.

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. Something we can get used to (First Place Tribe Fever Frowndup)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

