Skip to content

Counting Our Blessings As Browns Fans

February 3, 2011

I know that people are unhappy with the ownership of the (new?) Cleveland Browns, namely Randy Lerner. He certainly isn’t one of my favorite people in the world, what with the decade plus of stumbling around with my favorite franchise.

But here’s the thing about Lerner – for all of the mistakes and blunders that have been made since he took control of the team, all of us should be able to agree on two things. First, that he has no problem throwing money around (no matter how misplaced it may be) to try and put an end to the constant floundering. The second thing is that no matter what you might say about the level of intelligence of the Browns fans that continually buy tickets, he has never really screwed the fans like he probably could have.

After stumbling on a piece that is about two and a half months old, I’m here to let you in on something: It could definitely be a lot worse, Browns fans.

I’ve voiced my opinions on hirings and firings, and in the grand scheme of things, I sincerely hope that this front office knows what they are doing. Because in the end, I feel that they are doing what they believe is right for this team, our team, the Cleveland Browns.

Look, as much as I like to poke fun at other teams for their misfortunes (as the saying goes, misery loves company), I honestly cannot believe that another team’s fan base has to deal with such a nefarious character as they do with Dan Snyder in Washington. If there is one fan base that I truly feel for, it’s this one.

Somehow, I completely whiffed on a post written in the Washington City Paper back in November, a sort of gathering of Snyder’s history in business dealings and dealings with the media. The only reason I caught this today is because Snyder has filed a lawsuit claiming that the WCP “employed lies, half-truths, innuendo and anti-semitic imagery” to defame his character. The image in question must be referring to the half-assed (probably half jokingly as well) junior photoshop included in the link. I’m not sure that religion is playing a part in the piece in question here; angry fanbases don’t care about how you choose to worship your particular god, they care about winning.

Now, I’m certainly not a lawyer. I’ll leave all the legal jargonese to these guys over here. However, it seems to me that most of what was published in the November article could be proven one way or the other. As for the part about defaming Snyder’s character, I’m fairly certain he’s done enough damage to himself in that department without any help from anyone. A quick overview of the A to Zorn list would really give you a background to how Snyder operates.

So, I guess my point is this: Keep your chin up, Cleveland. While we all have lively discussions on Twitter from time to time, and attempt to civilly discuss our points of contention with the latest moves made by the Browns, we all should be extremely thankful that we don’t have an owner in place who is solely concerned with fleecing his fanbase out of every last penny that they have.. With another good draft, and some lucky lightning strikes, maybe we’ll all have the Browns team that we dream for.

As for Washington, they can keep winning their offseason championships, but we can rest assured that the people that we have in place want to build this team the right way.

2 Comments
  1. February 3, 2011 7:57 pm

    Oh yeah, Snyder’s a real piece of work. You’re right, for all the whining about Lerner, it could be much, much worse.

  2. jhf44lk permalink
    February 6, 2011 4:01 pm

    Yes Chris I believe you are right on. The Browns are not that far away from being relevant again but there are a lot of other teams still lost in the wilderness. I also think the right peope are finally in place at the top who are making intelligent football decisions. Waiting is tough though and the draft can not get here soon enough!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

